How it all began…

I have just set up a new Blog site oglintales.wordpress.com , so in honor of this I thought I would explain a little about how my Oglins came to be.

I was having a pretty rubbish time personally so had begun to be more creative again as a way of escape. It all was part of my grand scheme to try to rediscover myself underneath the layers of submissiveness and difficulties life had brought me. Somewhere along the way I had lost my artist self and I was trying to find her/it again.

Anyway, many bad drawings followed along with half baked ideas and stories that I got bored of as quickly as I thought them up, then one night I had a dream – stay with me here people I’m not about to get all crazy, but I had a dream I was in huge street parade. I was chasing this massive balloon. I don’t know why? but I needed to catch it in order to give it back to someone. There was also another person, a man chasing after the balloon too. Anyway I caught the balloon first, gave it to this family then all fireworks, streamers and confetti rained down on us. When I woke up I still had the image of this balloon in my head as clear as day and this is what it looked like.

Oglins sketch book3

 

Hmm, I thought what is this? This is different. Not drawn this before, and I immediately wanted to draw more, ideas flooded in and quite quickly I had created this whole world on an Island called Ogin. I gave all my characters names and they all had different personalities. I had finally created the type of world I longed to discover, I suppose it had always been there just waiting to be found.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So after lots of drawing, making up strange words, hating it & loving it. I decided to let others see my work too. That’s why I started this blog and took my first little steps onto twitter. The response was lovely, so supportive. I thought I would be trolled after 5 mins and I would have to scurry back to the safety of my kitchen table, but it wasn’t the case.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I embraced the Oglins whole heartedly  and so did others but something just wouldn’t let them just be them selves I kept trying to fit them into all manor of guises (cards, purses, bags etc…) rather than just let them live on the Island as I had planned. Everything suddenly felt silly, what if people didn’t like it? I didn’t feel brave enough to be myself or let them be themselves.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

But now I’m feeling brave, so brave I’ve started a whole new blog all about Ogin Island the people who live there and everything in between. I’ve packed away my purses and greetings cards just for the time being and I’m letting the Oglins live as nature intended. Which is a bit like how I feel about myself now. I like and accept myself again and I am happy being who I am, just  as nature intended.

oglins website 1http://oglintales.wordpress.com/

 

2 thoughts on “How it all began…

  1. I love seeing what your little friends are up to. Yet to buy any of the cards or notebooks but I promise to soon. Keep going, you’re a fine artist and you make me smile!

Leave a comment